Book In Review: “Place In Purpose”, by Kathryn C. Lang

 

Placeinpurpose

 

 

Hey ya’ll!   Today is a special one because I received an opportunity from the CWA Review Crew to review another fantastic book called “Place In Purpose”, by Kathryn C. Lang.   This is a faith-based book for all you believers out there who might be searching for more meaning in life.  Perhaps you’re in need of some direction in doing/finding what God put you here on earth to do.  Maybe you have a deep heart’s desire but have always been told, “You can’t do that!”  This might just be the book for you.  🙂

I have read more than a few books on self-help and finding purpose in life, but the one thing that was always missing from those books was Christ and the bible.  Reading those books, I always looked at my life through the lens of self-fulfillment and not through the lens of finding my purpose/talents/heart’s desire with God’s direction.  Kathryn C. Lang has opened my eyes to see that it’s not just all about me,  but about my story inter-weaved with others in the form of service and even sacrifice.   I have never thought of my purpose in that way before.  I might just be admitting here that I have always selfishly thought of my life’s calling as something that affects me me and only me but I realize I am wrong.

I knew this book was wonderful from the first chapter because I couldn’t stop highlighting paragraph after paragraph.  Kathryn lists many ways that you can get closer to God so that with him, you can identify the “missing” part in your life.  You know, that “thing” that you think about doing but never get to, or maybe you don’t think about it because it’s buried so deep, pushed so far down that you don’t think it’s there anymore.    She includes stories of her relationship with her husband and kids and how she found blessings in the midst of her house being destroyed by tornadoes.  I found it all very down to earth, relatable and refreshing.

 

For those of you who feel like you’ve already found your purpose, you would most likely love this book as well!   The author has some wonderful tips on how to spend more time with God every day, great tips on bible study and opening yourself up to others, as we can all build walls.  I know for myself, as a stay-at-home Mom, I can literally be an island at times.  I have my routine and so does my child and changing things up is very difficult, but Kathryn fills the book with uplifting scriptures and notes on why you and I are so special in God’s eyes.

 

In closure, I just want to say that I feel blessed to have been given the opportunity to read this book.  Kathryn’s words made me stop and think about all my old past dreams and passions.  It made me remember all the nay-sayers,  the non-believers and think to myself that God put there desires in my heart for a reason.  Those true desires NEVER go away, if they are from God.  She says that “A life lived in Purpose will be one filled with peace.”  If you don’t have that peace right now, check out this book.  It may be the puzzle piece that you’ve been missing.

 

God bless,

 

Lisa

 

P.S. This book is only $3.99 on Amazon right now in Kindle form.  That’s a great deal!

 

The author’s website:   http://www.kathrynlang.com/

You can buy the book here:   http://www.amazon.com/Place-Purpose-Kathryn-C-Lang/dp/1492323985

Twitter:   https://twitter.com/Kathrynclang

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/Kathrynclang?fref=ts

 

 

 

 

 

Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

 

review crew badge

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

