EXPLORING: “CROSSING VALUES” BY: CARRIE DAWS

Crossing Values

I am quite excited to tell you about the book I just finished called “Crossing Values” by author Carrie Daws. From what I could gather, Mrs. Daws is a Christian, home schooling, mother of three who spends her time volunteering with a military ministry and writing fiction novels. These traits I’m sure made an impact on her writing of this book which took me about three hours to read and I honestly couldn’t put it down. In fact, I really wish it had been longer. It’s hard to find a book that you can just zoom through because it’s so good, but this is one of them.

I enjoyed “Crossing Values” so much because I found it real and relatable to my life. I would venture to say it would be very relatable to a lot of people. The questions that the main character “Amber” asks, are questions that I have asked. She is a twenty-something year old girl who wanders from town to town getting a new home and new job every few months, keeping everyone at an arm’s length. She’s running from something. She has built walls that no one had been able to penetrate due to a hard knock life. If you have ever been hurt by people you love, you will be able to relate to this book. You’ll have to read this book for yourself to see what kind of situations Amber gets herself into and more about the family she comes across, but you will come out of it having learned some life lessons and even a little scripture.

If you like fast paced books that avoid over-describing scenes or scenarios then this book is for you. The book is 25 chapters long but it’s important to note that more than a few of these chapters are only a page or less. The story cuts from scene to scene quickly which I surprisingly liked, as it kept my attention well. Daws builds the characters up throughout the book but doesn’t waste your time with “filler” describing scenes or characteristics that you just don’t need to know. I love that! I have heard rumors that perhaps this is the first book in a series of books so I am looking forward to reading more from this author. In addition, I am excited to see what the future holds for Amber.

This book would be appropriate reading for teenagers and adults alike. I could also foresee this book being helpful to someone who might be questioning their faith due to the death of a loved one or other circumstances out of their control. On a very small side note, one thing I found slightly odd was that in the book describes Amber as brown-eyed with mahogany colored hair. The girl on the cover has blonde hair. I do wonder, if that is in fact supposed to be Amber on the cover, why she doesn’t fit the description? Small detail! I still used the girl on the cover as my “mental picture” when reading this book.

By: Lisa Gay

Carrie’s Website: http://carriedaws.com/
Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarrieDaws
Buy the book: http://www.amazon.com/Crossing-Values-Carrie-Daws/dp/1935507923

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CarrieDaws

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

Leave a Reply

