EXPLORING: “GROWING GREAT KIDS” BY: KATE BATTISTELLI

I started this book being unfamiliar with the Battistelli family, but I am so glad to have discovered them finally in “Growing Great Kids”.  Kate Battistelli is the mother of the Dove Award winning, Grammy nominated singer Francesca Battistelli.  In this book you will become very familiar with Francesca, as Kate tells heartwarming stories of raising her daughter to be an upright Christian in today’s modern world.

When I first picked this book up, I’d never actually thought of Kate’s concept of it being a parents job to help find Gods calling on their children.  What a revelation! Maybe it’s just me or the way I was raised but until I read this book I always thought that it was the parents responsibility to expose their children to things like art and sports and literature, and then it was up to the child to gravitate towards what they naturally liked to do.  I guess I thought that the kids would figure it out for themselves by excelling at one or two things with a bit of help from the parents in the money and shuttle department.  I now feel corrected in my way of thinking and a bit cheated out of my own destiny.

Initially I thought this would be your usual parenting guide on how to discipline and how to create boundaries but this book goes so much deeper than that.  It’s on a whole nother spiritual plane and doesn’t go by the worldly advice we all know and hear regularly.  Let me add that I do not have children but am currently in trying to conceive mode. With that being said my sister has a baby boy who is a year old and I feel the need to get her a copy of this book stat!  After reading it, I feel so much better equipped to be a mom who leads by example and creates a positive environment for my children to flourish in.

I found this book to be an easy read and quite entertaining as Kate describes her childhood growing up in musical theater as well as raising a daughter who enjoyed and thrived in the arts as well.  I can relate, having been in theater my whole life.

I found it exciting hearing some of the odds and ends of what it’s like being in the music business while being Christian, as well as how they handled obstacles that came up along the way.

I feel like this book would be very useful to a parent with children of any age and even someone like me who is planning for children.  Each chapter is filled with Bible based lessons ranging from finding and nurturing your child’s calling in life to being a prayer warrior, teaching your child to be a person of integrity and purity and making an example of yourself as the parent.  This is all priceless information.  There are even a few paragraphs on selfishness and how it can hinder your child’s destiny.  This hit home pretty hard for me.

This book has sparked something in me to want to be a better person and when the time comes, a better Mom.  Kate’s standards might seem daunting at first, particularly if you have more than one kid, but she gives some great tips and a new parenting perspective that I truly appreciate.  Those high standards produced a happy and successful woman so who can argue with that?

This book is an A+, I recommend it to anyone who wants a Bible based Christ centered perspective on a raising children.  I really enjoyed reading it.

Kate’s Website:

http://katebattistelli.com/ or http://www.sparkymarketing.com

Follow her on Twitter: @katebattistelli

Buy the book: http://www.amazon.com/Growing-Great-Kids-Kate-Battistelli/dp/1616386541

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/KateBattistelli

Disclosure:

I received a free copy of this book/Ebook/Product to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of

The CWA Review Crew.

P.S. As an added bonus Francesca’s music is awesome!!!!  So glad I read this book and now have the opportunity to explore this great music too. I am definitely a fan now!

Leave a Reply

