PCOS

Hey y’all! Oh no I sound like Paula Dean! Ha!

 
This is sort of serious blog post…

 
If you follow this post you know that I had a miscarriage a little more than a month ago.

 
I have been looking into holisitc health for some time now and have sought the help of a health coach named Rose Cole. She has been in the business for many years and is an expert in the field of hormones and PCOS.

 

She thinks that I have PCOS.

 

Why?

I have most of the symptoms that come along with it.
If you don’t know what PCOS is here is a break down.
http://women.webmd.com/tc/polycystic-ovary-syndrome-pcos-topic-overview

It’s basically an imbalance of hormones that throws off your whole system. It can cause infertility, ovarian cysts, loss of the menstrual cycle, acne, weight gain, hair thinning, extra hair on the face, constipation, depression and more.

 
The facts are 1 in 10 women have this “problem”.  I hesitate to call it a “disease” because according to holistic health experts, it is reversible.  If left untreated, it can cause heart disease and diabetes.

 
Why does Rose say she is 99% sure I have it?  Because over the course of about 4 years I have gained about 45 lbs., have constant fatigue, stubborn acne, headaches,  depression, anxiety, unbalanced hormones, overly sensitive to cold, a miscarriage and a cyst on my ovary. I have also noticed in the past few months a little bit of a mustache above my upper lip.  Yeah… embarrassing.

A few years back when I was a vegetarian I had my hormones tested and I had low testosterone, but I was also thinner and ate very little meat.  Since becoming an avid Paleo meat addict, my testosterone levels have come up and now I fear they are on the high side.  This is making me re-think being Paleo.  Honestly, moderation is sounding better and better.

 
I have made a few decisions in the interest of getting healthy, losing weight, and having a healthy baby.

 
What am I going to do, you ask?

 
I am going to throw out all my conventional wisdom about getting in shape and I am giving in to the tune of living holistically.

 
What does holistic mean?

 
ho·lis·tic (h-lstk)
adj.
1. Of or relating to holism.
2. a. Emphasizing the importance of the whole and the interdependence of its parts.
b. Concerned with wholes rather than analysis or separation into parts: holistic medicine; holistic ecology.

 
It means looking at the body and it’s problems as a whole, meaning if you have a problem,  you examine the chain of events in your body that led to it.

I am not too good at explaining this stuff but I rest assured knowing that you have the whole wide internet at your service if you want more info.

Here’s my plan of action.

Starting tomorrow I will be doing a 3 day cleanse consisting of The Master Cleanse.

You know the Master Cleanse!  It’s the one with the Maple Syrup, the Cayenne Pepper, and the Limes or Lemons! (Oh yeah and water)

Here is a link to the Master Cleanser website. http://themastercleanse.com/

Oh yes!  It will be hard but I have done it before and I felt great afterwards!  It will cleanse you of all the junk in your digestive system and leave you feeling refreshed. I think I did it for something like 5 days last year and I never experienced the feeling of being starving.  My hubby was so kind to eat pizza and spaghetti in front of me during my last cleanse so that was the only bad thing was smelling it and wanting it!

After the Master Cleanse, I will go on to modify my diet, exercise, and take the recommended supplements.

The program that I am taking with Rose is called the 10 Week Transformation.

Her program is specifically made to balance hormones and get your body back into working order.  The awesome thing is, that even if you don’t have PCOS, and you just want to get other problems taken care of, then this program is made to fix all the imbalances you might have and not even know it.

Here is a link to her website and an interesting article on PCOS.  She has helped so many women get their hormones balanced and also help with other problems that come with your body being out of whack.

 I am NOT an affiliate of this program and am not being paid for this.  I genuinely paid for this program myself and believe that the holistic way, is the way to go.  I must say that it is not cheap, and it took me years to save up to pay for this program.  As with everything, do your own research and find out what is best for you.  You may find a holistic nutritionist in your area that is cheaper and will work with you.

http://rosecole.com/articles/beautiful-skin/the-link-between-pcos-and-acne.html

I will update you on my progress!  Here’s to the journey!  And to the New Year!

One more thing, here is a link to a cool video of another holistic health professional and her 2cents on reversing PCOS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=kDp0uc6C63o&feature=endscreen

Lisa♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

