Project Day 2: Painting The Dining Room

THE WALL BEFORE.

So it’s DAY TWO on my dining room project and so far so good. I am using a painting method I call Rag Painting. It is by far the easiest way to faux paint an OLD WORLD LOOK on your walls, with minimal expense and effort. It’s not that I want to expend minimal effort, it just kind of worked out that way because like I said in the earlier post, I didn’t have to buy ANYTHING! Also, I find this easier than getting out the paint tray, rollers and brushes.

All you need is a clean 5 gallon bucket, your paint color of choice, (i am using a flat matte paint in the color Cornbread by Martha Stewart), a rag with a little bit of texture to it, and a little time on your hands.

This took me approx. 2-2.5 hours to do two walls in my dining room. The key to the textured look is to keep your rag very dry if you want a lighter color, or very wet if you want a darker pattern. Personally I wanted the two styles mixed so I would ring out the rag more for some spots and keep it wet, (but not dripping) in other areas. I achieved the texture i was going for and it was surprisingly fast and easy!

Here are a few pics of the process.

ANOTHER BEFORE PIC. WHAT A MESS!DIFFERENT VIEW BEFORE PIC
Leave a Reply

